Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
It’s the final days of UPR’s spring member drive and we’ve fallen behind on our goal. If we haven't heard from you yet, then we need to today! GIVE NOW

Legislative Leaders Announce Redistricting Committee Members

The Utah Legislature has named the members of the redistricting committee who will be responsible for drawing the boundaries of state Senate, House and Congressional districts.In a statement, Senate President Stuart Adams said the committee members’ have been tasked with setting legislative boundaries that reflect the changes Utah has seen over the last decade. He added he believes the committee members’ recommendations will “result in the best outcomes for our growing state.”


Speaker of the House Brad Wilson said the members’ efforts are fundamental to the success of Utah’s elections and government for the next decade. He added that setting boundaries is a “complex assignment” that was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The legislative expects to receive the new census data by October 1. 


The 20 member committee is chaired by Sen. Scott Sandall and Rep. Paul Ray and it includes senators and representatives from across the state. Members are listed below: 

Sen. Kirk Cullimore

Sen. Gene Davis

Sen. Lincoln Fillmore

Sen. Don Ipson

Sen. Karen Mayne

Sen. Mike McKell

Rep. Carl Albrecht

Rep. Jeff Burton

Rep. Joel Ferry

Rep. Sandra Hollins

Rep. Brad Last  

Rep. Steve Lund  

Rep. Ashlee Matthews  

Rep. Merrill Nelson

Rep. Val Petersen  

Rep. Candice Pierucci

Rep. Robert Spendlove

Rep. Andrew Stoddard

Tyler Hewitt is the web/social media assistant at UPR. He writes stories every day, updates the website and manages the station's Twitter and Facebook pages. Tyler is a senior at Utah State University and is studying public relations, marketing, and psychology. He loves to write, listen to music, play video games, play tennis and hang out with his fiancé and cat, Juno. He is a great plant dad and recently started collecting vinyl records!