Logan City Mayoral And Council Candidates To Debate Thursday

Aug 2, 2017

Credit vineyard.utah.gov

Candidates running for public office in Logan City will participate in a debate from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 3, at the Logan Library in advance of the Aug. 15 primary election, where voters will narrow down the field of candidates for a new mayor and two new municipal council members.

The Herald Journal and Utah Public Radio will host Thursday’s debate. UPR News Director and Morning Edition Host will moderate the debate. All four mayoral candidates and nine of the 10 city council candidates are expected to attend.

The mayoral debate will take place first, from roughly 6:00 to 7:00 p.m., and includes candidates Hayden Eugene Nielson, Holly H. Daines, Brian Seamons and Kyle Barney.

The Municipal Council candidates forum will run from 7:15 to 8:45 p.m. and will include candidates Emmanuel Amador Herrera, Keith Schnare, Richard Steele, Paul R. Borup, Jess Bradfield, Paul Rogers, Steve Thompson, Jens CK Trauntvein and April A. Mortensen. Amy Z. Anderson will be out of town and has prepared and statement to be shared.

Logan City uses the vote-by-mail system, so ballots must be postmarked by Aug. 14 or be dropped off at the official ballot drop-off box at Logan City Hall until 8:00 p.m. on election day. The Cache County Clerk’s Office can register voters in person until Aug. 8.

Logan’s municipal elections are nonpartisan. The mayor and municipal council members serve four year terms.