Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Thank you for supporting UPR’s spring member drive! We are still working on the final stretch to reach our goal. Help us get there! GIVE NOW

Cache Valley Students Awarded In Annual 'Reflections' Contest

An above view of Tyler Rasmuson's piece for the Reflections contest
Tyler Rasmuson


A dozen students from Cache Valley were recognized this year at the state level of the Parent Teacher Association Reflections program. 

Sam Fowler, a junior at Mountain Crest High School, is a violinist and composed his very own piece for the Reflections contest.


“If you’ve ever heard like, Paganini or Wieniawski, I really like that kind of style, that virtuosic, romantic type style. Paganini and Wieniawski are too hard for me to play, so I decided to write something within reach, which is the theme of reflections,” said Fowler.


Each year, officials for the PTA reveal a theme the students follow while creating their entries. This year’s theme is Within Reach. Each student will enter their artwork into a number of categories, including film production, literature, music composition, dance choreography, photography and the visual arts.


This is the second year Tyler Rasmuson, a sophomore at Ridgeline High School, has entered the contest.


“I made a rock climbing scene with this cliff face, and from above the precip has dream, like your dreams that you’re climbing to reach,” Rasmuson said.


Reflections is a nationwide program, which breaks down to state, and then region. Both Rasmuson and Fowler passed the region and moved on to state.


Katie Chapman is the reflections chair for the Cache Valley region.


“The students have an opportunity to express themselves. A lot of times when you write an essay for class, you’re thinking more about what does the teacher want to hear. But I guess the big thing for me is that it gives those kids a voice, within their artistic passions,” Chapman said.


Three out of the 12 students from Cache Valley moved on to the national level. The national award winners will be announced in May.